Purple Public - The Political Voice For Moderate Americans

United States Federal Government Structure

The United States federal government consist of 3 branches of government:

1. Executive Branch: President (Cabinet) - Carries out laws passed by the legislative branch. Also, sets the direction for the country moving forward.

2. Legislative Brach: Congress (House and Senate) - Makes laws.

3. Judicial Branch: Supreme Court (9 Justices) - Rules on whether something is constitutional or unconstitutional when it is brought before them. Their decision is final, there are no appeals.

Executive Branch


Barack Obama (D)

Legislative Branch (114th Congress)

House of Representatives

188 Democrats 247 Republicans

House of Representatives Leaders

Speaker of the House Rep. Paul Ryan (R)
Majority Leader Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R)
Minority Leader Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D)


44 Democrats 2 Independents 54 Republicans

Senate Leaders

Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R)
Minority Leader Harry Reid (D)

Judicial Branch

Chief Justice of the United States John G. Roberts, Jr. (R)
Associate Justice Samuel Anthony Alito (R)
Associate Justice Anthony M. Kennedy (R)
Associate Justice Clarence Thomas (R)
Associate Justice Elena Kagan (D)
Associate Justice Stephen G. Breyer (D)
Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg (D)
Associate Justice Sonia Sotomayor (D)
Associate Justice Currently Unfilled